suspension options on FWD?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• suspension options on FWD?

hi, let me start of by saying...i'm new to this form, manily cause i had only posted 2 threads on automotiveforms.com and got negitive replies both times when i was just asking for advice. also i'm not trying to start a fwd drift war with anyone i'm just looking for ADVICE. so i was wondering if any of you have any suspension options for a fwd car to do the occasional "drift/powerslide"
    thanks with any info.

Granted you wont get a lot of praise around here for it ill help as i can.

To be blunt: Make the rear stiffer then the front.

Rear sway bar upgrade, rear strut bar, stiffer springs and shocks etc.

You can always use shitter tires in back then whats up front to help with oversteer.

Comment

thanks for your usful help and not bull crap. but yea thanks. not as tires go should i use like the same width as the front of skinner/wider?? what would work beter? thanx

Comment

never thought about that- youd probably wanna run wider tires up front, better traction is always a good thing, and i guess the less rear traction in the rear would help it "step out". not to mention tires for smaller rims are usualyl cheaper so ull save some money

Comment

k thanks with the info.

Comment

dude don't let people get you down because you have an FWD. Nobody said that drifting was specific for only FRs and AWDs. Just have fun with it, and if you enjoy what you're doing with you're car, then who cares what people say.

Comment

Hah, im one of those people i guess though ill never say it directly.

Ill just say and leave it at each drivetrain has their own form of drifting... just like theres mens basketball- and womens basket ball lol

Comment

thanks. well put 2 dude!

Comment

The basics were covered.

Essentially, you're trying to keep as much weight on the front end as possible...or at least enough to allow for oversteer.