Start with this...?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Start with this...?

First things first, I suck at drifting. I have had hours of instruction and read a lot about drifting enough to say I know how to drift, but I couldn't exactly drift well in a 94 accord or a 97 lumina that I have tried to learn in.

I've been saving for a drift car for 2 years from part-time jobs between my first years at college and the summer. As in "drift car" I really just mean something RWD so I can learn in, and I think I found that car but I need some feedback.

I found an 87 supra twin turbo within my very limited price range atm. I was hoping to find some immediate feedback as to how well of a starter car this supra is before I throw down my money.... thanks.

Also, for those that care, the car is in excellent running shape and it was regularly serviced. There's only 90K miles on it. The only thing that's wrong with it is some rust on a door, one of the sideskirts need to be adjusted, and a long piece of plastic trim is missing from one of the sides.

The Accord and Lumina are both driftable(some will argue of course). Being fwd, they will be quite limited in techniques. I started with my old 89 Lesabre. It was a fwd boat of a car with auto and a rusted foot e-brake, but I made it work. Feint and braking, and e-brake techniques are about all that's useful in a fwd car, and you'll come to hate the slow exit speed. Find some gravel, and your cars are duable.