Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• car and suggestions?

HI,

I am new to drifting and cars mainly.... I am still 14 and am saving for a drifter.....any way i was wondering if a 2000+ eclipse with mods would be a good car? I now alot about basic engines but still need to learn about ecu's and tuning car engines. i am going to read the drifting 101 forum to start any other suggestion would help.

Thanks,
    Chris

Ok, here's your first tip: worry about school before drifting

Comment

Re: car and suggestions?

Originally posted by Raptor5900
      I am new to drifting and cars mainly.... I am still 14 and am saving for a drifter.....any way i was wondering if a 2000+ eclipse with mods would be a good car? I now alot about basic engines but still need to learn about ecu's and tuning car engines. i am going to read the drifting 101 forum to start any other suggestion would help.
      Are you saying that you want a 2000+ Eclipse as a drift car or as a car just to tune?

Eclipses don't make good drift cars.
      Last edited by jaydm180sx; 07-28-2004, 10:06 PM.

Comment

2000+ eclipses are FF (front engine front wheel drive) the first gen and second gen dsm's (diamond star motors) came in FF and FWD (front engine all wheel drive). if you have read anything about drifting FF is much more difficult to drift than FR (front engine rear wheel drive) and FWD requires higher speeds to iniatte drift and more power to keep the car moving. if you really want an eclipse though i would stay away from the 3rd gen cars on accont of they suck. the 1st and 2nd gen cars have pretty much the same engine and drivetrain as the mitsubishi evolution, and have much more aftermarket support.

Comment

worry about school before drifting
          I plan to i just want to drift in my spare time. I did not know that the eclipse was FF. So what would be a good car to start with then?

Comment

So what would be a good car to start with then?