suspension question

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• suspension question

hi im new to all this and i cant really afford to get a really expensive coilover system.. so im looking into lowering springs and ill just upgrade later on... my question is if i get lowering springs for my car(1990 240sx hatchback) do i need to get shocks too? would it still lower my car with the stock shocks? or do i need to get new shocks? thanks!

Re: suspension question

Originally posted by newkidontheblok
    hi im new to all this and i cant really afford to get a really expensive coilover system.. so im looking into lowering springs and ill just upgrade later on... my question is if i get lowering springs for my car(1990 240sx hatchback) do i need to get shocks too? would it still lower my car with the stock shocks? or do i need to get new shocks? thanks!
    yes it will lower your car. Are you just every day driving or do you have plans for some crasy stuff. The problem with just springs is that they lower you shock pistons into the tubes farther thus changing thier fluid equalibrium on the top and bottom of the piston. This can cause faster shock fade and can lead to bottoming or cavatating them which would render them almost useless. A lowered shock and a lowered coil would be best to keep your piston biasses equal.

Comment

You dont need new shocks, but it is reccomended. But if you plan to get new shocks, get a full coilover system.

Comment

Originally posted by Chas
        You dont need new shocks, but it is reccomended. But if you plan to get new shocks, get a full coilover system.
        from Speed Alliance

Comment

Originally posted by emission
          from Speed Alliance
          Yes, goes without saying!

Comment