ad

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

What cars are Good and affordable for drifting???

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What cars are Good and affordable for drifting???

im a noob to drifting!!! and i need help choosing my car!! im getting it used of course and im gonna fix it up. so of course i want it cheap!! name any cars you think are good for a begginer!! im willing to pay up to a range of $12,000 so yeah that means if i can ebay motor it that price...let me kno

Originally posted by driftxraven
    im a noob to drifting!!! and i need help choosing my car!! im getting it used of course and im gonna fix it up. so of course i want it cheap!! name any cars you think are good for a begginer!! im willing to pay up to a range of $12,000 so yeah that means if i can ebay motor it that price...let me kno
    WTF?!

Since when is spending up to 12k on a car consider cheap????!!!!

Comment

As with any kind of motorsport you NEED to realize that you should never fall in love with the car and must be able to walk away from it at any time. If you are not willing to push your car off a cliff repeatedly then don't use it for more than a daily driver.

Figure out what you can afford, and what you can afford to fix.

I reccomend learning how to grip before you drift. Autocross, lapping days, karting, roadracing. There is alot of lessons and skills you pickup grip racing, and it usually is far cheaper, especially since you break far fewer things. To drift properly you must be on the edge, and if you don't know where that edge is it will usually bite you when it finds you.

I also reccomend starting with a car that is already setup correctly. This will take alot of frustration out of the learning curve, as you can focus just on your driving. If you feel you must build your own car then buy something that there is already an established market for drift specific parts.

Cars I reccomend for a first drift car.

S13
      miata
      AE86