How do people wipe out on dry roads?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How do people wipe out on dry roads?

Here in Rochester, NY, we've had a rash of accidents lately. The news blurbs indicated that the drivers lost control of their vehicles due to excessive speed and crashed, in all cases killing the driver.

I was astute in noticing that the weather has been dry and clear, up until just yesterday, and realized that these accidents happened on dry roads. I have to ask myself: How does that happen? No blowouts. No deer. No drunk drivers. Just 3 people who didn't know how to drive.

I guess this is just a rhetorical thread. While I'm a newbie to racing, I've taken great pride and care in learning the limits of my cars. Even before beginning real training, I always knew that I could make a 90 degree turn at 35 mph and not sweat it for a second. I just paid attention to my car.

I can't imagine how people can blow it in a corner in everyday driving, considering the huge margin for safety that is commonly maintained. Duh, I know they obviously did not maintain that, but can't fathom what went through their minds:

"Oh, I'll just floor it."

"hmmmm, wonder how this baby corners at 95?"

"gee, that girl's bedroom window was open and the shade was up...."

"I'm in-VEEEEN-see-bell!"

???????

"driving beyond limits of the driver"

Comment

you pretty much covered it bro...they didnt know how to drive. in my opinion, there are people that can operate a car, and there are people that can drive. the difference means avoiding an accident, rahter than being killed or injured in a wreck.

Comment

I think it often has things to do with in-experience.