Stretch them

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Stretch them

What up every one? While I'm not really new to drift I'm still learning and I'm new to this forum. I own an s5t2 that I want to start sliding once it's ready. I know you don't need to go crazy with mods to drift but it came with kyb agx shocks and some brand of shox I don't know. Anyway. What I'm here to ask is about tire stretching on wider rims. What's the point? I've notices a lot of drift machines if not all on the pro circuits do this. What are the benefits to this? Thanks.

stretching is purely cosmetic and economic.

Comment

Yeah, the old belief was that stretched tires gave you a stiffer sidewall. I don't believe it does and tire stretching, in my opinion, has become overplayed in drifting. I say go with a set of tires that fit properly and decent set you can afford. They don't have to be the stickiest set, considering this is your first time drifting, but don't go too cheap. Something like a Nexen N1000, Falken Ziex ZE-329, or a General AltiMAX RT or HP would do best.

Comment

Originally posted by blaze1 View Post
        stretching is purely cosmetic and economic.
        Economic in what way? Will it save the tire some how?

Comment

Originally posted by Justin Banner View Post
          Yeah, the old belief was that stretched tires gave you a stiffer sidewall. I don't believe it does and tire stretching, in my opinion, has become overplayed in drifting. I say go with a set of tires that fit properly and decent set you can afford. They don't have to be the stickiest set, considering this is your first time drifting, but don't go too cheap. Something like a Nexen N1000, Falken Ziex ZE-329, or a General AltiMAX RT or HP would do best.